Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

AGM 2016

Genetics Society


Thursday 10th November 2016, The Royal Society London



1.  Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Friday 17th April 2015 
2.  Matters Arising
3.  President's Report
4.  Honorary Treasurer's Report
5.  Honorary Secretary's Report and Business for Transaction 

a)  Balfour Lecture 2017: Dr Andrew Wood (IGMM Edinburgh)

b)  Genetics Society Medal 2017: Dr Marisa Bartolomei (University of Pennsylvania)
c)  JBS Haldane Lecture 2017: Professor Enrico Coen (John Innes Institution, Norwich)
d)  Mary Lyon Medal 2017: Dr Petra Hajkova (Imperial College London)
e)  Mendel Medal 2017: Professor David Baulcombe (University of Cambridge)
f)  Sir Kenneth Mather Prize: Nominations close on 27 November 2016.  

Applications for new membership  

g)  Election of new members Please refer to the proposed list of new members which accompanies this agenda. If you have specific and serious objections to the election of any of the new members on this list, then you should contact the Society’s President, Wendy Bickmore (wendy.bickmore@igmm.ed.ac.uk), immediately.  

h)  Ratification of new committee members The following appointments are now ratified following an electronic ballot of members which was held in April:  

  • Vice President for Corporate Affairs – Malcolm Logan (KCL)
  • Vice President for External Relations – Colum Walsh (Ulster)
  • Honorary Secretary – Jonathan Pettitt (Aberdeen)
  • Ordinary Committee Member, Area ‘A’ (Gene structure, function and regulation) – Aziz Aboobaker (Oxford)
  • Ordinary Committee Member, Area ‘E’ (Evolutionary, ecological and population genetics) – Frank Hailer (Cardiff)
  • Honorary Treasurer (shadowing Anne Donaldson, 2016-2017) – Martin Taylor (Edinburgh)  

i)  Election of new committee members The following positions will become vacant on the Genetics Society Committee on 1 May 2017:  

  • Newsletter editor
  • Area B (Genomics)
  • Area C (Cell and developmental genetics)
  • Area D (Applied and quantitative genetics)   

Nominations will close on Friday 25 November and members will be given the opportunity to vote for their preferred candidate after this date.  

6.  Any Other Business         


Dr Jonathan Pettitt
Honorary Secretary
The Genetics Society