Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Committee Members

The role of the Committee is defined in the Genetics Society Constitution. Each member of the Committee is a representative of a major field of genetics

Committee Vacancies



Professor Wendy Bickmore
MRC Human Genetics Unit
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital 
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
Tel: +44 (0)1313 322471 x2304
Email: wendy.bickmore@igmm.ed.ac.uk


Vice-President, Public Understanding of Genetics

Dr Alison Woollard (2019)                
Biochemistry Department              
University of Oxford

Email: alison.woollard@bioch.ox.ac.uk


Vice-President, External Relations

Professor Rebecca Oakey (2016)
King's College London
Department of Medical and Molecular Biology
8th Floor Tower Wing
Guy's Campus
London   SE1 9RT
Tel: +44 (0) 20 718 83711
Email: rebecca.oakey@kcl.ac.uk

Vice-President, Corporate Affairs
Professor Malcolm Logan (2017)
Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics
King's College London, Guy's Campus
London, SE1 1UL

Tel: +44 (0)207 848 6886
Email: malcolm.logan@kcl.ac.uk

Tanya Whitfield (2016)               
MRC Centre for Developmental and Biomedical Genetics
Department of Biomedical Science        
University of Sheffield                
Sheffield, S10 2TN

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 2350
Fax: +44 (0) 114 222 2787
Email: t.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk


Prof Anne Donaldson (2017)                
Institue of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

Tel: +44 (0) 122 455 0975
Email: a.d.donaldson@abdn.ac.uk

Dominique Kleyn, Non Executive Director (2019)        
BioIndustry Association
Tel: 07768 344346
Email: dominique.kleyn@btinternet.com


Dr Manuela Marescotti (2017)
Centre of Integrative Physiology
Hugh Robson Building
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9XD

Mobile: +39 (0) 392 811 6440
Email: m.marescotti@brainwave-discovery.com


Lynsey Hall (2017)
School of Clinical Sciences
The University of Edinburgh
Kennedy Tower
Royal Edinburgh Hospital
Morningside Park
Edinburgh, EH10 5HF

Tel: +44 (0) 131 5376531
Email: L.S.Hall@sms.ed.ac.uk


Area A (Gene structure, function and regulation)

Douglas Vernimmen (2019)                
University of Edinburgh      
Easter Bush Campus          
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0)131 351 9119
Email: douglas.vernimmen@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Pettitt (2017)
School of Medical Sciences
College of Life Sciences and Medicine
University of Aberdeen
Institute of Medical Sciences
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

Tel: 01224 437516
Email: j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk

Area B (Genomics)

Michael Simpson (2019)
Division of Genetics and Molecular Medicine        
King's College London
Guy's Hospital
London, SE1 9RT

Email: michael.simpson@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Martin Taylor (2017)
MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC IGMM
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

Tel: +44 (0)131 332 2471 (extension 4043)
Email: martin.taylor@igmm.ed.ac.uk
skype: mst7776

Area C (Cell and developmental genetics)

Marika Charalambous (2019)

William Harvey Research Institute 
Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry 
Queen Mary University of London 
Charterhouse Square 
London EC1M 6BQ 

Tel: +44 (0)207 8826 292
Email: m.charalambous@qmul.ac.uk

Elizabeth Fisher (2016)                                
Department of Neurodegenerative Disease     
UCL Institute of Neurology
Queen Square
London, WC1N 3BG

Tel: +44 (0) 203 448 4439
Email: e.fisher@prion.ucl.ac.uk

Area D (Applied and quantitative genetics)

Dr Kay Boulton (2019)
The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS
University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0) 131 6519213
Email: kboulto1@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Dr Eleftheria Zeggini (2017)
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The Morgan Building
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Cambridge, CB10 1HH

Tel: +44 1223 496868
Email: Eleftheria@sanger.ac.uk

Area E (Evolutionary, ecological and population genetics)

Mark Jobling (2018)                
University of Leicester           
University Road           
Leicester, LE1 7RH

Tel: +44 (0) 1162 523427
Fax: +44 (0) 1162 523378
Email: maj4@le.ac.uk

Judith Mank (2016)
Chair of Evolutionary and Comparative Biology
University College London
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment
The Darwin Building
Gower Street
London, WC1E 6BT

Tel: 020 3108 4228
Email: Judith.Mank@ucl.ac.uk

Area F (Corporate genetics and biotechnology)

Richard Flavell (2018)                
Ceres Inc
1535 Rancho Conejo Blvd
California, 91362

Email: rflavell@ceres.net

Jim Huggett (2019)
Molecular Biology
Teddington, UK

Email: Jim.Huggett@lgcgroup.com 

Note:  Committee members serve from 1 May of the year of their election until 30 April (or after the AGM, whichever is the later) of the year indicated in parentheses after their name.

The President and Honorary Treasurer posts shadow the outgoing postholder for one year prior to taking up the post.

The Postgraduate Representative joins the full Committee meeting in November and shadows the outgoing post for 6 months.

Persons invited to attend Committee meetings as non-voting contributors


Professor Mike Bruford
Cardiff School of Biosciences
The Sir Martin Evans Building
Museum Avenue
Cardiff, CF10 3AX

Tel:+44 (0)29 208 74312
Fax:+44 (0)29 208 74116

Email: BrufordMW@cardiff.ac.uk

The Genetics Society Office

Charles Darwin House
12 Roger Street

Tel: +44 (0) 203 793 7850
Email: theteam@genetics.org.uk