Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Committee Members

The role of the Committee is defined in the Genetics Society Constitution. Each member of the Committee is a representative of a major field of genetics

Committee Vacancies


Professor Enrico Coen (2015)         
John Innes Centre                
Norwich Research Park                
Colney, Norwich NR4 7UH

Tel: +44 (0)1603 450000
Fax:  +44 (0) 1603 450045
Email: enrico.coen@bbsrc.ac.uk

Professor Wendy Bickmore
MRC Human Genetics Unit
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital 
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

Tel: +44 (0)1313 322471 x2304
Email: wendy.bickmore@igmm.ed.ac.uk


Vice-President, Public Understanding of Genetics
Dr Chris Smith (2015)                
Division of Virology                
Department of Pathology
University of Cambridge
Cambridge CB2 1QP

Tel: +44 (0) 7766 947 547
Email: cs222@cam.ac.uk

Vice-President, External Relations
Professor Rebecca Oakey
King's College London
Department of Medical and Molecular Biology
8th Floor Tower Wing
Guy's Campus
London   SE1 9RT

Tel: +44 (0) 20 718 83711
Email: rebecca.oakey@kcl.ac.uk

Vice-President, Corporate Affairs
Professor Malcolm Logan (2017)
Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics
King's College London, Guy's Campus
London, SE1 1UL

Tel: +44 (0)207 848 6886
Email: malcolm.logan@kcl.ac.uk

Tanya Whitfield (2016)               
MRC Centre for Developmental and Biomedical Genetics
Department of Biomedical Science        
University of Sheffield                
Sheffield, S10 2TN

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 2350
Fax: +44 (0) 114 222 2787
Email: t.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk


Prof Anne Donaldson (2017)                
Institue of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

Tel: +44 (0) 122 455 0975
Email: a.d.donaldson@abdn.ac.uk

Prof Dirk-Jan de Koning (2015)               
Department of Animal Breeding and Genetics    
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Box 7023, 750 07 Uppsala, Sweden

Tel: +46 (0) 18 672039
Email:  dj.de-koning@slu.se


Dr Manuela Marescotti (2017)
Centre of Integrative Physiology
Hugh Robson Building
George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9XD

Mobile: +39 (0) 392 811 6440
Email: m.marescotti@brainwave-discovery.com


Kay Boulton (2016)
The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS
University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0) 7720 449345
Email: kay.boulton@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Become the next Postgraduate Representative!


Area A (Gene structure, function and regulation)

Colum Walsh (2015)                
Centre for Molecular Biosciences,        
School of Biomedical Sciences             
University of Ulster,
Coleraine BT51 3PH

Tel: +44 (0)28 7012 4484
Email: cp.walsh@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Pettitt (2017)
School of Medical Sciences
College of Life Sciences and Medicine
University of Aberdeen
Institute of Medical Sciences
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

Tel: 01224 437516
Email: j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk

Area B (Genomics)

Dr Jane Rogers, Director (2015)
The Genome Analysis Centre            
Norwich Research Park

Tel: +44 (0) 1603 450861 
Email: Jane.Rogers@bbsrc.ac.uk

Dr Martin Taylor (2017)
MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC IGMM
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

Tel: +44 (0)131 332 2471 (extension 4043)
Email: martin.taylor@igmm.ed.ac.uk
skype: mst7776

Area C (Cell and developmental genetics)

Dr Ian Henderson (2015)                
Department of Plant Sciences                
University of Cambridge                    
Downing Street
Cambridge CB2 3EA

Tel: +44 (0) 1223 748977
Fax: +44 (0) 1223 333953
Email: irh25@cam.ac.uk

Elizabeth Fisher (2016)                                
Department of Neurodegenerative Disease     
UCL Institute of Neurology
Queen Square
London, WC1N 3BG

Tel: +44 (0) 203 448 4439
Email: e.fisher@prion.ucl.ac.uk

Area D (Applied and quantitative genetics)

Dr Jon Slate (2015)
Department of Animal & Plant Sciences  
University of Sheffield
Western Bank
Sheffield   S10 2TN 

Tel: +44 (0) 114 2220048 
Email:  j.slate@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Eleftheria Zeggini (2017)
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The Morgan Building
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Cambridge, CB10 1HH

Tel: +44 1223 496868
Email: Eleftheria@sanger.ac.uk

Area E (Evolutionary, ecological and population genetics)

Mark Jobling (2018)                
University of Leicester           
University Road           
Leicester, LE1 7RH

Tel: +44 (0) 1162 523427
Fax: +44 (0) 1162 523378
Email: maj4@le.ac.uk

Judith Mank (2016)
Chair of Evolutionary and Comparative Biology
University College London
Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment
The Darwin Building
Gower Street
London, WC1E 6BT

Tel: 020 3108 4228
Email: Judith.Mank@ucl.ac.uk

Area F (Corporate genetics and biotechnology)

Richard Flavell (2018)                
Ceres Inc
1535 Rancho Conejo Blvd
California, 91362

Email: rflavell@ceres.net

Dominique Kleyn, Non Executive Director (2016)        
BioIndustry Association                 
Tel: 07768 344346
Email: dominique.kleyn@btinternet.com


Note:  Committee members serve from 1 May of the year of their election until 30 April (or after the AGM, whichever is the later) of the year indicated in parentheses after their name.

The President and Honorary Treasurer posts shadow the outgoing postholder for one year prior to taking up the post.

The Postgraduate Representative joins the full Committee meeting in November and shadows the outgoing post for 6 months.

Persons invited to attend Committee meetings as non-voting contributors


Professor Mike Bruford
Cardiff School of Biosciences
The Sir Martin Evans Building
Museum Avenue
Cardiff, CF10 3AX

Tel:+44 (0)29 208 74312
Fax:+44 (0)29 208 74116

Email: BrufordMW@cardiff.ac.uk

The Genetics Society Office

c/o Portland Customer Services
Charles Darwin House
12 Roger Street

Tel: +44 (0) 2076 852444
Fax: +44 (0) 2076 852468

Email – theteam@genetics.org.uk