Log In |
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

Committee Members

The role of the Committee is defined in the Genetics Society Constitution. Each member of the Committee is a representative of a major field of genetics

Committee Vacancies 2016

GENETICS SOCIETY COMMITTEE MEMBERS 2015/2016

PRESIDENT

Professor Wendy Bickmore
MRC Human Genetics Unit
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital 
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU
Tel: +44 (0)1313 322471 x2304
Email: wendy.bickmore@igmm.ed.ac.uk



VICE-PRESIDENTS

Vice-President, Public Understanding of Genetics

Dr Alison Woollard (2019)                
Biochemistry Department              
University of Oxford

Email: alison.woollard@bioch.ox.ac.uk

 

 

Vice-President, External Relations

Professor Colum Walsh
School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Ulster

 Email: cp.walsh@ulster.ac.uk

 

Vice-President, Corporate Affairs
Professor Malcolm Logan (2017)
Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics
King's College London, Guy's Campus
London, SE1 1UL

Tel: +44 (0)207 848 6886
Email: malcolm.logan@kcl.ac.uk

 

HONORARY SECRETARY 
Dr Jonathan Pettitt (2017)
School of Medical Sciences
University of Aberdeen
Foresterhill
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD
Tel: 01224 437516
Email: j.pettitt@abdn.ac.uk

 

HONORARY TREASURER 
Professor Anne Donaldson (2017)                
Institue of Medical Sciences
Foresterhill
University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZD

Tel: +44 (0) 122 455 0975
Email: a.d.donaldson@abdn.ac.uk

 
HONORARY TREASURER (Shadowing year)
Dr Martin Taylor (2017)
MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC IGMM
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

Tel: +44 (0)131 332 2471 (extension 4043)
Email: martin.taylor@igmm.ed.ac.uk
skype: mst7776

 

SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS SECRETARY
Dominique Kleyn, Non Executive Director (2019)        
BioIndustry Association
                
Tel: 07768 344346
Email: dominique.kleyn@btinternet.com


NEWSLETTER EDITOR

  Dr Manuela Marescotti (2017)
  Centre of Integrative Physiology

  Hugh Robson Building

  George Square

  Edinburgh EH8 9XD


Mobile: +39 (0) 392 811 6440
Email: m.marescotti@brainwave-discovery.com

 

POSTGRADUATE REPRESENTATIVE

Lynsey Hall (2017)
Institute of Genetic Medicine
Newcastle University
International Centre for Life
Central Parkway
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE1 3BZ


Tel: +44 (0) 191 241 8692
Email: Lynsey.Hall@newcastle.ac.uk


ORDINARY MEMBERS

Area A (Gene structure, function and regulation)

Douglas Vernimmen (2019)                
University of Edinburgh      
Easter Bush Campus          
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0)131 351 9119
Email: douglas.vernimmen@roslin.ed.ac.uk


Dr Aziz Aboobaker (2017)
University of Oxford

Email: aziz.aboobaker@zoo.ox.ac.uk

 

 




Area B (Genomics)

Professor Michael Simpson (2019)
Division of Genetics and Molecular Medicine        
King's College London
Guy's Hospital
London, SE1 9RT

Email: michael.simpson@kcl.ac.uk

Dr Martin Taylor (2017)
MRC Human Genetics Unit, MRC IGMM
University of Edinburgh
Western General Hospital
Crewe Road
Edinburgh, EH4 2XU

Tel: +44 (0)131 332 2471 (extension 4043)
Email: martin.taylor@igmm.ed.ac.uk
skype: mst7776

Area C (Cell and developmental genetics)

Dr Marika Charalambous (2019)

William Harvey Research Institute 
Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry 
Queen Mary University of London 
Charterhouse Square 
London EC1M 6BQ 

Tel: +44 (0)207 8826 292
Email: m.charalambous@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Elizabeth Fisher (2016)                                
Department of Neurodegenerative Disease     
UCL Institute of Neurology
Queen Square
London, WC1N 3BG

Tel: +44 (0) 203 448 4439
Email: e.fisher@prion.ucl.ac.uk

Area D (Applied and quantitative genetics)

Dr Kay Boulton (2019)
The Roslin Institute and R(D)SVS
University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush
Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Tel: +44 (0) 131 6519213
Email: kay.boulton@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Dr Eleftheria Zeggini (2017)
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The Morgan Building
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton
Cambridge, CB10 1HH

Tel: +44 1223 496868
Email: Eleftheria@sanger.ac.uk

Area E (Evolutionary, ecological and population genetics)

Professor Mark Jobling (2018)                
University of Leicester           
University Road           
Leicester, LE1 7RH

Tel: +44 (0) 1162 523427
Fax: +44 (0) 1162 523378
Email: maj4@le.ac.uk

Dr Frank Hailer (2020)

Cardiff University

 



Email: hailerf@cardiff.ac.uk

Area F (Corporate genetics and biotechnology)

Professor Richard Flavell (2018)                
Ceres Inc
1535 Rancho Conejo Blvd
California, 91362
USA       

Email: rflavell@ceres.net

Dr Jim Huggett (2019)
Molecular Biology
LGC
Teddington, UK

Email: Jim.Huggett@lgcgroup.com 

Note:  Committee members serve from 1 May of the year of their election until 30 April (or after the AGM, whichever is the later) of the year indicated in parentheses after their name.

The President and Honorary Treasurer posts shadow the outgoing postholder for one year prior to taking up the post.

The Postgraduate Representative joins the full Committee meeting in November and shadows the outgoing post for 6 months.



Persons invited to attend Committee meetings as non-voting contributors

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF, HEREDITY


Professor Barbara Mable
Room 404 Graham Kerr Building

Institute of Biodiversity, Animal Health and Comparative Medicine

College of Medical, Veterinary & Life Sciences

University of Glasgow

Scotland
 
G12 8QQ
 

 

Tel:+44 (0)141 330 3532
Fax:+44 (0)141 330 5971

Email: barbara.mable@glasgow.ac.uk


The Genetics Society Office

Charles Darwin House
12 Roger Street
London
WC1N 2JU

Tel: +44 (0) 203 793 7850
Email: theteam@genetics.org.uk