If you want to find out more about the Genetics Society, or would like to help organise a local event, please contact your institute ambassador in the first instance.

The tasks of the Genetics Society Ambassador are not onerous and include:

  • Recruiting new members by:
  • targeting new student intakes
  • alerting your department/institution/university to deadlines for grants available to researchers
  • Promoting the society by:
  • publicise Genetics Society meetings and other events (e.g. putting up posters or by word of mouth)
  • manning stands at relevant local events
  • Attending ad hoc national, travel expenses paid, “get togethers” to meet the committee and network with other local ambassadors
  • Providing feedback from the membership about Genetics Society activities
  • Helping organise local events such as socials etc
  • Assisting the Membership Secretary in keeping an accurate log of which members have moved on and to where

As an ambassador you will receive lots of support from the Genetics Society, including supplies of promotional materials and loan of pop-up banners.

If you would like to become a Genetics Society Ambassador please contact the Genetics Society.

Current Ambassadors:

Aberdeen Professor Anne Donaldson University of Aberdeen
Aberdeen Dr Isabelle Colas James Hutton Institute
Aberystwyth Dr Dylan Wyn Phillips
Aberystwyth University
Bangor Dr Alexander Papadopoulos
Bangor University
Bath Dr Araxi Urrutia
University of Bath
Belfast Dr Declan McKenna University of Ulster
Birmingham Dr Lindsey Leach University of Birmingham
Birmingham Dr Charlotte Rutledge University of Birmingham
Brighton Dr Felicity Z Watts University of Sussex
Bristol Professor Patricia Kuwabara University of Bristol (SOMs)
Cambridge Howard Baylis Zoology Department, University of Cambridge
Cambridge Philip Wigge Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge University
Cambridge VACANT Genetics Department, University of Cambridge
Cambridge Dr Bénédicte Sanson Phys, Dev and Neuro Department, Cambridge University
Cambridge Ian Henderson Plant Sci Department, University of Cambridge
Canterbury Dr Simon C Harvey Canterbury Christ Church University
Cardiff Dr Timothy Bowen University of Wales College of Medicine
Cardiff Dr William Davies Cardiff University
Coventry Dr Jose Gutierrez-Marcos University of Warwick
Coventry Dr Peter Glen Walley University of Warwick
Dublin Oliver Blacque University College Dublin
Dundee Professor Michael JR Stark University of Dundee
Edinburgh Dr Ian Jackson MRC Human Genetics Unit
Edinburgh Dr Douglas Vernimmen The Roslin Institute
Edinburgh Dr Jarrod Hadfield Institute of Evolutionary Biology
Edinburgh Professor Eileen Wall SRUC
Essex Dr Antonio Marco University of Essex
Exeter Dr Sarah Flanagan University of Exeter
Exeter Dr Ben Longdon University of Exeter
Glasgow Dr Iain Johnstone University of Glasgow
Glasgow Dr Kevin O’Dell University of Glasgow
Guildford Dr Fiona Green University of Surrey
Harwell Dr Paul Potter MRC Harwell
Hinxton Dr Cristina Ariani Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Hull Dr David Lunt University of Hull
Kent Prof Mick F Tuite University of Kent
Lancashire Dr Paul Ashton Edge Hill University
Leeds Dr Andrew Peel University of Leeds, School of Biology
Leicester Dr Ed Hollox University of Leicester
Liverpool Dr Tony Plagge University of Liverpool
Liverpool Dr Peter Walley University of Liverpool
Liverpool Dr Craig Wilding Liverpool John Moores
London Dr Claire Russell Royal Veterinary College
London Dr Francesca Mackenzie Kingston University
London Professor Simon Hughes King’s College London
London Professor Harald Schneider The Natural History Museum
London Professor E M C Fisher UCL Institute of Neurology
London Professor Andrew Pomiankowski UCL Department of Genetics, Evolution and Environment
London Professor Richard A Nichols Queen Mary and Westfield College
London Dr Emanuela Volpi University of Westminster
London Dr Yalda Jamshidi St George’s University of London
London Dr Michalis Barkoulas Imperial College (South Kensington)
London VACANT Imperial College (Silwood and Ascot)
London Dr James Turner Crick Institute
London VACANT Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Manchester Dr Catherine Walton University of Manchester
Manchester Dr Reinmar Hager University of Manchester
Manchester Becky Collier University of Manchester
Newcastle upon Tyne Dr Kirsten Wolff University of Newcastle (Biol Sci)
Norwich Professor Enrico Coen John Innes Centre
Norwich Dr Tracey Chapman University of East Anglia
Nottingham Dr Richard Emes University of Nottingham (Sutton Bonnington Campus)
Nottingham Professor John Brookfield University of Nottingham (University Park Campus)
Oxford Dr S. E. Kearsey University of Oxford (Zoology)
Oxford Professor Andrew O M Wilkie University of Oxford (John Radcliffe Hosp)
Oxford Professor Liam Dolan University of Oxford (Plant Sciences)
Oxford Dr Paul Potter MRC Harwell
Oxford Professor Jonathan Hodgkin University of Oxford
Oxford Dr Ravinder Kanda Oxford Brookes University
Plymouth Dr Mairi Knight University of Plymouth
Reading Dr Louise Johnson University of Reading
Richmond Dr Alexander Papadopulos Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Sheffield Dr Jon Slate University of Sheffield
Southampton Dr Mark A. Chapman University of Southampton
St Andrews Professor Mike Ritchie University of St Andrews
Stirling Dr Mario Vallejo-Marin University of Stirling
Sunderland Dr Timothy Barrow University of Sunderland
Swansea Dr Claire Morgan Swansea University
York Dr Sean T Sweeney University of York